January 11, 2020

North District Advisory Committee Report No. 2-2020

NORTH DISTRICT ADVISORY COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 2-2020

To the Chair and Members Winnipeg Public School Board:

December 15, 2020

The North District Advisory Committee reports as follows:

1. <u>Election of Committee Chair</u>

The Committee was informed that at a Board meeting, Trustee Arlene Reid was appointed as the Board's representative and Trustee Linda Schatkowsky was appointed as the Board's alternate representative to this Committee.

The parent representative from Lansdowne School volunteered to Chair the North District Advisory Committee meetings.

2. WSD 2020/2021 Budget Consultation

The Committee received an overview on the Budget Consultation for the 2021/2022 school year.

The Committee was informed that the Budget is developed based on the WSD Strategic Plan that aligns with the vision to be engaged, confident, inspired and successful learners. The Committee was informed that the development of the budget includes students, learning outcomes, employing qualified caring and competent staff, practicing sustainable development, and building relationships.

The Committee was informed that the Board is committed to obtaining feedback from school communities, parent councils, residents and staff groups for the 2021/2022 budget.

The Committee was informed that this year, the members of the Board are interested in receiving feedback on school resources that may be required to fulfil the educational mandate and the most important issue for schools, and whether the parent council favour an increase in property taxes if required to support programming.

The Committee was informed that it is anticipated that the provincial funding announcement would be in late January, early February. The Committee was informed that student enrolment has decreased this year, which may result in a slight decrease in provincial funding. The Committee was informed that cost increases may be required due to arbitration hearings, decreased enrolment and whether the provincial cap on the special levy will continue this year. The Committee was informed that the provincial government does not fund programs and services such as cultural support workers, adult patrols, nursery program or the full day kindergarten, nutrition program, bilingual programs and milk subsidy programs, for example.

The Committee agreed that the most important issue for their schools would be remote learning and the strain on the parents to provide a learning environment. The Committee agreed to continue discussions and share feedback at the next meeting.

The Committee discussed whether their respective parent councils would be in favor of an increase in property taxes, if required, to support programming. The Committee agreed to continue discussions with their Parent Council and provide feedback at the next meeting.

3. <u>Renaming of Cecil Rhodes School</u>

The Committee was informed that the Board of Trustees approved a motion on October 5, 2020, that the administration begin a consultation process to engage students, parents/guardians and members of the community on the interest of renaming Cecil Rhodes School and that the results of the consultation be provided to the Board of Trustees no later than March 15th, 2021.

The Committee was informed that the request to review the name of Cecil Rhodes School was in response to a petition with 1,700 signatures requesting that the Board of Trustees consider a name change. Trustee Chen informed The Committee that while the history of Cecil Rhodes includes an acknowledgement of business contributions and achievements, he is also known for his involvement and support in politics which upheld segregationist policies against non-white citizens of South Africa.

The Committee was informed that the administration is in the process of obtaining feedback from a variety of stakeholders. The consultation process will include current students attending Cecil Rhodes School as well as former students. The students will receive the history of Cecil Rhodes and have an opportunity to discuss the name of the school and share different perspectives. The administration will also be consulting with staff, parents, and the community to obtain feedback. The WSD website will provide an opportunity for people to complete a survey and provide feedback.

The Committee was encouraged to discuss this matter with their respective parent councils and submit feedback to the Board for consideration.

4. <u>School Resource Officers</u>

The Committee was informed that the Board of Trustees received presentations, petitions and correspondence from individuals requesting the removal of SRO's in schools mainly due to their role, and interactions with students.

As a result, the Board of Trustees approved a motion that the School Resource Officer Program (SRO) be referred to the Finance/Personnel Committee for discussion. On November 16, 2020, the Board of Trustees gave direction to the administration to develop a comprehensive consultation process to evaluate the SRO program.

The Committee was informed that the administration is in the process of developing a survey to obtain feedback from students, staff and parents/guardians. A third party will be retained to consult with WSD community members and organizations to collect and compile feedback on the SRO Program.

The Committee was encouraged to share this information with their parent councils. Feedback on the SRO program can be submitted directly to the Board and Community Liaison Officer at brlapointe@wsd1.org.

Respectfully Submitted,

IN ATTENDANCE:

Voting Representatives

Andrew Mynarski School Faraday School Inkster School Isaac Newton School École Lansdowne School École Luxton School Lord Nelson School Meadows West School Ralph Brown School Robertson School Shaughnessy Park School St. John's High School École Stanley Knowles School Tyndall Park School

Regrets:

Champlain School Garden Grove School Prairie Rose School Sisler High School

Administration:

Fatima Mota, Superintendent, Education Services Tony Marchione, Director, Literacy, Arts, Enrichment and Careers Cristina Da Mata, Principal, Andrew Mynarski School Lucas Buller, Vice-Principal, Andrew Mynarski School Jennifer Cox, Principal, Faraday School Dino Difabrizio, Principal, Inkster School Angela Perez, Vice-Principal, Isaac Newton School Daniel Keith, Vice-Principal, Lord Nelson School Joy Perrott, Principal, Luxton School Gabrielle Katchanoski, Vice- Principal, Meadows West School Rosanna Guzzi, Principal, Ralph Brown School Dana Petrzelka, Vice-Principal, Robertson School Douglas Taylor, Principal, St. John's High School Pat Graham, Principal, Shaughnessy Park School Steven Nikkel, Vice-Principal, Shaughnessy Park School Darryl Stevenson, Principal, École Stanley Knowles School Gisele Mospanchuk, Principal, Tyndall Park School Stephanie Helander, Recording Secretary, Board of Trustees

Trustees:

Arlene Reid Linda Schatkowsky